> > Clinical commissioning groups

Clinical commissioning groups

By April 2013 clinical commissioning groups will take on responsibility for health care budgets.

In Sussex there are seven clinical commissioning groups:

  • Brighton and Hove CCG
  • Coastal Community Healthcare CCG (covering the Eastbourne, Hailsham and Seaford localities)
  • Crawley CCG
  • Coastal West Sussex CCG (covering Adur, ARCH - Bognor Regis and Chichester, Arun, Cissbury - Worthing, and Chanctonbury)
  • Hastings and Rother CCG
  • Horsham and Mid Sussex CCG
  • High Weald and Lewes-Havens CCGs
Image - Surrey___Sussex_CCGs_June_2012.jpg

What will CCGs be responsible for?

Current plans suggest that clinical commissioning groups will be responsible for:

  • services from hospitals (planned, routine care, and emergency care)
  • community and primary care services (district nurses, community matrons, health visitors)
  • mental health services
  • prescribing
  • learning disabilities services
  • corporate management (managers to support the GPs)

Commissioning groups will not be responsible for contracting:

  • primary medical, dental, optometric, pharmaceutical services
  • health improvement and prevention (though clinical commissioning groups will be expected to work with local authorities to achieve this, see below for Public Health)
  • adult or children’s social care
  • The clinical commissioning groups will operate in shadow form from April 2012, taking on greater responsibility for commissioning health services for their local communities.